hifi engine

Akai 646 problem

Hello .. I am new to this nice place. I actually acquired an AKAI GX 646 . It looks in a very good shape except that it needed a lot of cleaning. the problem is that it fast forwards and rewinds but it doesn't play, although the play lights in both directions light up and I can hear a strong click but it doesn't spin. I had a look at the capstan motor and it doesn't spin although it runs freely when spun by hand. The pinch roller engages verywell. I am frustrated because no repair shop in my country wanted to have a look at it. what could be the reason? can anybody give me ahint. I am suspecting the motor is not recieving orders to spin or this is a bad motor. I also had a look at the service manual but it doesn't contain a troubleshooting table.

please , help me out

some hints

...anyway, first of all check all fuses ( see at service manual p. 24 + 33 ( as counted in adobe reader !). If they are o.k. ....

... remove the rear plate ( s.p.8 ), disconnect the cables of the motor and check the DC resistance of the motor (between red-blue ( 110 ohms) , and brown-yellow ( 170 ohms). Aditionelly there are two cables comming from a coil on the motor ( the value should be about 665 ohms ).
( s. also page 20 ).

The values are mostly not exact , but should be at least in the tolerance of min. 20 % !

If they are o.k. check the DC voltages ( between red-blue and brown yellow ). The value is not given, but I think it will be between 20 and 100 volts DC !

If there is no voltage, have a look at page 42 ( this is the schematics diagramm of the motorcontrol ) and page 46 ( the pcb layoutdiagramm ). In both cases you have to enlarge the pic to min. 125 % . In the upper region of page 42 you will find the capstan motor with the next electronic parts ) and the same on the layout ( left corner ) on page 46.

Check switch and D 9. If they are o.k., it will be getting a little bit difficult. But first you have some good hints , you can follow.