hifi engine

Marantz mod 5020 cassette deck lighting.

I have owned a Marantz mod. 5020 cassette deck since 1978 and it has always worked fine. Recently I decided to change a broken fuse-lamp at the VU-meters lighting. When I connected the deck again, all lights were gone, including the REC , the VU-meters, and the cassette compartment lights. More over, the VU-meters ceased to move when playing a tape. The motor still works and I still get sound on the play-back outlet. The main fuse is still intact. Maybe I used a wrong replacement bulb which could have caused a short of some kind...(?) Now I have bought the right fuse-lamps through a distributor via Internet, but they won't lit.
I downloaded a service manual for the mod. 5220 which is very similar to mine, but cannot find anything about lighting. I have to admit I'm not a professional with electronics and my instrumentation is very limited.
Does anybody have an idea to help me solving this problem? ( at least a lead as where to look at...)
Also the erase head seems not to work properly when making a new recording on an used cassette. Tried to clean it properly with alcool, with a bit of result but not perfect. Should I use something else?
Many thanks in advance,
Hugues Pulings.

Hello Hugues, first I have

Hello Hugues,

first I have no shematics or else from the 5020 and these would be helpfull ( maybe someone has one, it will be great ), but I have the tapedeck and I had replaced all lightnings a year ago.

The fuse lamps have 8 V and 200 mA.

A broken lamp cannot damage something, but it´s possible ( and I think so ), that you have either built in a lamp, which needs a higher current or - during the repair - you have produced a short cut.

The main fuse at the backside is obviously o.k., otherwise nothing would function.
But there are three secondary fuses ( two with 1 A, one with 3,15 A ). To change them , you have to remove the bottom plate ( I think eight or nine screws ).