hifi engine

Quad 303 power amplifier hissing n pop sound.

lwong2's picture

I am a novice in electronic. Can some one kindly help me with this problem

My quad 303 when power up , 1 of the speakers ( right channel) has a hissing sound then a pop sound when power cuts in.It takes a few seconds to normalise.The left speaker is OK

I have

a) replaced the 2 power supply capacitors from 2000 uf 200 V to Elna 3300 uf 100V and

b)replaced a single core to a multi cores cable from the rectifier to the + ve end of the capacitors and

c) connected in parallel .33 uf 1000vdc West capacitors to the out-put capacitors.

Prior to this change the 2 speakers were normal no pop sound etc.

My questions are :

1. What can likely gone wrong.
2. Can this phenomenon hurt the speaker.
3. Can the biasing cause this problem.
4. Does the polarity of the west caps matter . how to identify their polarity
1 end is silver and the other side is black in color.

Thank you and appreciate for any advice.

best regards,

Re: Quad 303 power amplifier hissing n pop sound.

Dear Wong,

This QUAD 303 amplifier need maintenance.
Modifying will not solve the problem.
Replace all small electrolytic capacitors by the same value ( use e.g. Panasonic EB series ). ( use for C104 10µF, 12µF is hard to find ).
The input capacitor ( tantalum type ) can be replaced by a small 680nF MKT capacitor.
Replace all resistor trimmer and check all the fixed resistors for their value and replace the out of tolerance ones, mainly the resistors over 18kΩ have the tendency to increase their value at this age.
Sometimes some transistors became unstable and generate rumble and noise as well, mostly the drivers Tr105 and Tr106 but the other transistors can be affected as well. The original transistor type are obsolete, you can use the following type's:
1) Power transistors Tr1,Tr2 and Tr3 ( power regulator ) Motorola or On-Semiconductor MJ15003.