hifi engine

Rotel RA-310 advice required

I picked up this little amp for a few dollars not working a few weeks back. I'm a novice at repairs but want to learn so figured it would be a good piece of gear to learn/practice on. The DC fuse had blown and a few pokes with a multimeter told me the output transistors on one side had blown. So I downloaded the service manual and started prodding around and replacing things. I replaced all the transistors on the main pre/power amp board then fired it up with a dim bulb tester. The amp not runs but is badly distorted in one channel. Following the instructions in the service manual I attempted to set the idle current and found it to be far too high in one channel (the other channel can be adjusted to the reccomended 10mV across the emitter resistor, the bad channel is at 80mV minimum). So far I've done the following and have about reached the end of my limited fault finding capabilities.

Checked all input voltages, all are close to spec
Replaced all transistors with new ones as closely matched as possible, either original spec or newer ones with as close characteristics as I could find
Checked all visible solder joints
Replaced all electrolytic caps
Checked all resistors, all are close to spec and consistent across both channels, replaced a couple of carbon comps that were looking a bit scorched with new metal film resistors (Will eventually replace all of them)
Disconnected input signal wire to check problem wasn't being passed thru from there, nothing doing
Removed, cleaned and tested trim pots, all ok, reinstalled
removed diode and ceramic/mylar caps, don't have means to test properly so swapped them to opposite channel one by one to see if the problem migrated with any of them but had no effect.