hifi engine

Technics SA 500 Receiver

I have an Technics SA 500 receiver that I bought new when I was in college (long time ago). The receiver worked great and I loved it as it was the first piece of audio equipment I purchased. As time went on I purchased other receivers and the SA 500 ended up getting past around to different family members (dumb move in hindsight) until it circled back to me recently.

I tried to fire it up the other day and it would not power up. I looked at the fuses and they appear in tack. The unit is in decent shape, not perfect, but not beat up. It's got about 35 years of dust on the inside which is not helping matters.

I would love to get this running again and use it in my basement just for fun. I'll never sell it even if it doesn't work but it would sure be great to see it in operation again. I'm a total novice when it comes to electronics but I would appreciate any thoughts or advice as to how I might go about restoring it.

Thanks

Re: Technics SA 500 Receiver

When I turn my SA-500 receiver on it lights up but other lights such as the fm stereo and power lights do not come on. Also, the signal and tuning needles are not activated. I already changed the two fuses and still have no reception. What shall I do? Thanks for any response.

Being 40 years old - this receiver will require a thorough restoration if its to be used and expected to be reliable.
And not a half-baked quick fix, either.
Age takes its toll on things.

Thanks for the perspective.